Miltenberger Scholarship

Updated Tuesday June 26, 2018 by Novato Babe Ruth.

Scholarship Website | Scholarship Facebook

John Michael Miltenberger Sportsmanship Award Recipients  - last four seasons

2018: A’s, Seth Conklin; Angels, Alexander Prongos; Mariners, Anthony Brandi; Rays, Garrett Reinhard; Tigers, Jack Hopkins; White Sox, Grant Wilhelm; Cubs, Chase McAndrew; Giants, Ryan Loeber & Jordan Kennedy; Marlins, Calvin Cunnan & Lukas Wynne; Padres, Chris Griggy; Reds, Max Jones

2017: A’s, Kevin Hall; Angels, Buddy Faure; Mariners, Matt Sasan; Rays, Tyler Nettelman; Tigers, Hayden Walker; White Sox, Connor Cevolani; Cubs, Hawk Kee; Giants, Miles Elkins & Trey Nottingham; Marlins, Nico Haralambidis; Padres, Aiden Rigali; Reds, Micky O’Leary

2016: Nick DeGeorge, A's; Lukas Prognos, Angels; Willie Cestarollo, Mariners; Colin Farrell, Rays; Hayden Walker, Tigers; Porter Stein, White Sox; Beau McAndrew, Cubs; AJ Wright, Giants; Miguel Care del Castillo, Marlins; Joaquin Arellanes, Padres; Matthew Murphy, Reds. 

2015: Brandon West, A's; Angus Brodeur and Anthony Okun, Marlins; Chase Bozeman and Vincent DeMartini, Reds; Ryan Dolan, Padres; Luke Hance, Cubs; Patrick Heslip, Giants; Jack Duffin, Mariners; Briggs MacFonald, Rays; Joell Vaca, Angels; Patrick Jameson, Tigers; Wyatt Hill, White Sox.


The Foundation History

John Michael Miltenberger was a teen-aged boy who, sadly died during a Novato Babe Ruth baseball game the summer following his promotion from Junior High School.

He was an athlete, a hard-working student, and someone who was not often acknowledged for his talents, strength and kindness. Following his death, John was remembered by his friends, teachers and coaches as a quiet team player, a loyal friend, and a brave individual.

Who receives this award 

The John Michael Miltenberger Sportsmanship award is given to a Babe Ruth player who consistently perseveres in the face of adversity and always strives to be his best. The player receiving the award is one who is generally well behaved and may be overlooked due to his gentle nature. The recipient of this award is a player who is considered to be a humble role model, as well as a forgiving and lasting friend. He is one who rises above challenges and expectations and acts with integrity.